APRN Consensus Model

m Bookmark and Share

The Consensus Model for APRN Regulation include the following major elements [in each of the four roles (CNS, CNP, CRNA, CNM)]:

  • State recognition of each of the four described roles
  • Title of APRN in one of the four described roles
  • Licensure as an RN and as an APRN in one of the four described roles
  • Graduate or post graduate education from an accredited program
  • Certification at advanced level from an accredited program that is maintained
  • Independent practice
  • Independent prescribing

For more information on the APRN Consensus Model, visit the National Council of State Boards of Nursing website.

American Nurses Credentialing Center
NCC will continue to offer its current APRN certification programs while they explore what is needed for a successful transition. As implementation of the new consensus model progresses, ANCC certification programs may change to more closely reflect the roles and populations required in the model. The target date for implementation the four essential elements-licensure, accreditation, certification, and education-is 2015.

For more information on credentialing and the ANCC implementation, visit the American Nurses Credentialing Center website.